starreading.blogg.se

Mac what partition style for windows 8 bootcamp
Mac what partition style for windows 8 bootcamp








mac what partition style for windows 8 bootcamp
  1. #MAC WHAT PARTITION STYLE FOR WINDOWS 8 BOOTCAMP INSTALL#
  2. #MAC WHAT PARTITION STYLE FOR WINDOWS 8 BOOTCAMP PRO#

I don't have a lot of confidence here, but maybe all the online tutorials are just old. That would be a good explanation for the lack of support for Windows XP and Vista as well as all 32-bit versions. Is Boot Camp 5 (as provided with OS X Mavericks) still using the hybrid GPT/MBR scheme? Since it explicitly supports only 64-bit versions of Windows 7 and 8, it is possible that they've jettisoned this ugliness. Which are the only versions that are officially supported by the current version of Boot Camp, and the only versions that I care to run. Modern 64-bit version of Windows no longer have this limitation-they boot fine from GPT disks on EFI-based computers. I'm wondering if I really have to compromise. Except every one that I've seen requires me to give up my recovery partition, since they remain hobbled by MBR's limitation of 4 partitions. I find tons of guides and tutorials online that tell me how I can, with a bit of work, interrupt the Boot Camp process and repartition the drive, giving me almost what I want. Partitioning the new one the way I want means 5 partitions. That wasn't a problem on my old machine, where I had an optical drive and no OS X recovery partition. They was forced into an ugly hack workaround involving the use of a hybrid GPT/MBR scheme (basically overlaying an MBR scheme on top of a GPT disk) since Windows used to be unable to boot from GPT disks. Originally, the Boot Camp engineers had no choice. Beyond whatever "user experience" logic Apple may have for this, there's a simple technical explanation: the MBR partitioning scheme used by Boot Camp supports a maximum of 4 partitions. I've been a Mac user for years, and have kept my files separate from the system disk since the days of System 7, but I haven't upgraded to a new Mac since Snow Leopard and built-in optical drives.īoot Camp is Apple's solution for this, but it doesn't work on drives that have any non-standard partitions.

#MAC WHAT PARTITION STYLE FOR WINDOWS 8 BOOTCAMP INSTALL#

Good thing I got started-I had no idea how difficult it was going to be to install Windows and create an auxiliary data partition.

#MAC WHAT PARTITION STYLE FOR WINDOWS 8 BOOTCAMP PRO#

My new Retina MacBook Pro is on its way, giving me time to contemplate setting it up.










Mac what partition style for windows 8 bootcamp